Primary sources · Judgment
HDFC ERGO GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED Vs NATIONAL ALUMINIUM COMPANY LIMITED
- Delhi High Court adapter: text extracted by Firecrawl; the source PDF was not retrieved, so no original file is archived.
*** IN THE HIGH COURT OF DELHI AT NEW DELHI**
%
Judgment reserved on: 10.08.2026
Judgment pronounced on: 19.08.2026
CNR No. DLHC010323242023
O.M.P. (COMM) 327/2023 &I.A. 15613/2023
HDFC ERGO GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY
LIMITED.....Petitioner
Through: Mr. Gopal Jain, Sr. Adv. with
Mr. Rijul Singh Uppal & Ms.
Kriti Sharma, Advs.
versus
NATIONAL ALUMINIUM COMPANY
LIMITED .....Respondent
Through: Mr. Abhishek Gupta, Mr.
Dhruv Tiwari & Mr. A.S.
Vamsi Krishna, Advs.
CORAM:
HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE AVNEESH JHINGAN
J U D G M E N T
This petition is filed under Section 34 of the Arbitration and
Conciliation Act, 1996 (for short 'the Act') against the arbitral award
dated 17.05.2023, rectified on 16.06.2023 (for brevity 'the award').
The facts shorn of unnecessary details are that the
respondent/National Aluminium Company Ltd. (hereinafter referred to
as ‗NACL‘) obtained a Standard Fire and Special Perils Insurance
Policy (for short ‗insurance policy‘) for Electric Generation Stations- coal/lignite based at the Captive Power Plant, Angul, Odisha (for short
‗CPP‘) from the petitioner/HDFC Ergo General Insurance Company
Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as ‗insurer‘). The sum insured under the
policy was of Rs.23,473,242,000/-. The policy was effective from
01.06.2017 to 31.05.2018 and the premium of Rs.1,51,92,298/- was
paid.
2.1 On 11.07.2017, a fire broke out in the Generator Transformer
(for short ‗GT‘) for Unit-08 of the CPP (hereinafter referred to as
‗GT-8‘). A surveyor was appointed by the insurer to assess the loss.
In a joint meeting held between the surveyor and the NACL it was
decided that the damaged GT-8 be sent to Bharat Heavy Electricals
Limited, Jhansi (for short ‗BHEL‘) for assessment of the loss.
2.2 On 04.09.2017, the NACL purchased a new GT and GT-8 was
sent to BHEL on 24.03.2018. BHEL by final offer dated 17.08.2018
estimated the cost of repair at Rs.4,02,13,786/- exclusive of GST and
transportation charges. The transportation charges were estimated at
Rs.26,15,000/-.
2.3 The NACL initially on 15.09.2018 submitted a claim of
Rs.6,65,84,669/-towards the repair of GT-8. The claim was
subsequently revised to Rs.6,95,35,369/-. The final claim bill was
submitted on 05.03.2019 along with the supporting invoices.
2.4 The surveyor submitted a provisional assessment report dated
29.06.2019, assessing the loss at Rs.23,52,397/- and recorded that it is
a case of ‗under insurance‘. The NACL on 28.10.2019 rejected the offer to settle claim at provisional assessment of Rs.23,52,397/-.
2.5 The surveyor submitted the final report dated 31.03.2020 (for
short ‗final report‘) wherein it was observed that: (i) transformer
cannot function without the bushing; (ii) the bushing was an integral
part of the transformer; and (iii) the statements of BHEL employees
were not agreed to. The final report recorded ‗under insurance‘ of
56.53%. Relying upon the final report, the insurer on 05.05.2020
rejected the claim relating to the transformer.
2.6 On 30.06.2020, the insurer informed the NACL that a cheque of
Rs.23,51,687/-, as assessed by the surveyor was being sent towards
settlement of the claim.
2.7 Vide notice dated 16.01.2021 the arbitration under clause 13 of
the General Conditions of the Insurance Policy (for short ‗GC‘) was
invoked at the instance of the NACL. The proceedings culminated in
an impugned award wherein the majority members of the tribunal held
that deduction for ‗under insurance‘ was not justified, for the reasons
that (i) the claim was allowed towards repair and not replacement; and
(ii) that the insurance cover was for entire unit and not only for the
GT. A sum of Rs.4,25,66,183/- was awarded and in case of failure to
pay the amount awarded within four months, simple interest @ 7.5%
per annum was to be paid from 18.09.2023 till realization. A sum of
Rs.10,00,000/- was awarded towards litigation costs. On the other
hand, the minority view relying upon the decisions in Sikka Papers
Limited v. National Insurance Company Ltd. &Ors., (2009) 7 SCC
777 and I.C. Sharma v. Oriental Insurance Company Limited,
(2018) 2 SCC 76 held that in a case of ‗under insurance‘, the
proportional deduction towards the ‗under insurance‘ is justified.
Hence, the present petition is filed.
3. Learned senior counsel for the insurer relies upon the decisions
of the Supreme Court in Sikka Papers Limited (supra) and I.C.
Sharma (supra) to fortify the contention that in case of ‗under
insurance‘, the claim has to be averaged out in proportion of under
insurance.
3.1 It is contended that the tribunal accepted the report of the
surveyor recording ‗under insurance‘ of 56.53% but failed to average
out the claim awarded.
3.2 The submission is that clause 10 of the GC was ignored and the
award suffers from patent illegality.
4. Per contra, the scope of interference under Section 34 of the
Act is limited. The submission is that the award should not be
interfered with unless the conclusion arrived at is perverse. Remedy
under Section 34 cannot be equated with appellate jurisdiction and the
court cannot reappreciate evidence. Every error of law or fact do not
justify setting aside an arbitral award. Reliance is placed upon the
decisions of the Supreme Court in Prakash Atlanta (JV) v. National
***Highways Authority of India,***2026 INSC 76, Ramesh Kumar Jain v.
Bharat Aluminium Company Limited, 2025 SCC OnLine SC 2857,
Consolidated Construction Consortium Limited v. Software
Technology Parks of India , (2025) 7 SCC 757 and ParsaKente
Collieries Limited v. Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited, (2019) 7 SCC 236.
4.1 It is submitted that there cannot be deduction on account of
‗under insurance‘ as value was assessed on the replacement value and
not on the repair value. Reliance is placed upon Questions 41 to 45 of
the cross-examination of the surveyor in support of the contention that
‗under insurance‘ was determined on the replacement value. The
questions relied upon and answers thereto are quoted below:
―41. Is it correct that the Insured/Claimant got the
plant insured on the basis of depreciated value?
Ans. Yes.
Is it correct that under insurance determined by
you acting as Surveyor is on the basis of reinstatement
value?
Ans. Yes.
Will you please explain that dichotomy?
Ans. The computation of under insurance has to be
done on the basis of reinstatement value as provided in
the policy wordings itself.
Please explain the term ―reinstatement value‖?
Ans. When one is putting up a plant there are many
aspect of costs which needs to be incurred. They will be
as below:-
i. Cost as per invoice for replacement
ii. Taxes & Duties
iii. Transportation cost
iv. Loading/Unloading cost
v. Erection cost‘
vi. Commissioning include cost for operating
media such as Oil and or refrigerator etc.
Less credits for the Taxes as allowed by the
prevalent Taxation Laws.
The above cost from (i) to (vi) put together less the
credit for the taxes as allowed by the prevalent Taxation
Laws, makes the ―reinstatement value.‖
Is it correct that ―under insurance‖ is calculated on
reinstatement value basis when the insurance claim is
raised on reinstatement basis / replacement, but not
otherwise?‖
Ans. Yes, it is correct.‖
Before proceeding further, it would be appropriate to reproduce
the relevant portion of the surveyor report dated 31.03.2020, Clause
10 of the GC and Section 64VB of The Insurance Act, 1938 (for short,
‗the Insurance Act‘) –
―Surveyor Report dated 31.03.2020
Valuation
Insured - NALCO has confirmed that they have taken the
sum insured in the policy based on book value
(depreciated) basis. lnsured has a 10 x 120 MW coal fired
power station. Based on our experience with similar claims
and prevalent prices in market, we have estimated the
reinstatement value to be at Rs.4.5 Crores per MW, i.e.
Rs.54,000,000,000/-. Comparing the same with sum
insured at Rs. 23,473,242,000/-, we observed that there is
significant underinsurance i.e. 56.53%. After adjusting for
underinsurance at Rs.6,310,503/-, the assessed loss works
out to Rs. 4,852,397/-.
B) General Conditions Of The Insurance Policy
10) lf the property hereby insured shall at the breaking out
of any fìre or at the commencement of any destruction of
or damage to the property by any other peril hereby insured against be collectively of greater value than the
sum insured thereon, then the insured shall be considered
as being his own insurer for the difference and shall bear a
rateable proportion of the loss accordingly. Every item, if
more than one, of the policy shall be separately subject to
this condition.
Section 64VB Of The Insurance Act, 1938
64VB. No risk to be assumed unless premium is
received in advance—(1) No insurer shall assume any
risk in India in respect of any insurance business on which
premium is not ordinarily payable outside India unless and
until the premium payable is received by him or is
guaranteed to be paid by such person in such manner and
within such time as may be prescribed or unless and until
deposit of such amount as may be prescribed, is made in
advance in the prescribed manner.
(2) For the purposes of this section, in the case of risks for
which premium can be ascertained in advance, the risk
may be assumed not earlier than the date on which the
premium has been paid in cash or by cheque to the insurer.
Explanation. —Where the premium is tendered by postal
money order or cheque sent by post the risk may be
assumed on the date on which the money order is booked
or the cheque is posted as the case may be.
(3) Any refund of premium which may become due to an
insured on account of the cancellation of a policy or
alteration in its terms and conditions or otherwise shall be
paid by the insurer directly to the insured by a crossed or
order cheque or by postal money order and a proper receipt
shall be obtained by the insurer from the insured, and such
refund shall in no case be credited to the account of the
agent.
(4) Where an insurance agent collects a premium on a
policy of insurance on behalf of an insurer, he shall deposit
with, or dispatch by post to, the insurer, the premium so collected in full without deduction of his commission
within twenty-four hours of the collection excluding bank
and postal holidays. (5) The Central Government may, by
rules, relax the requirements of sub-section (1) in respect
of particular categories in insurance policies.
(6) The Authority may, from time to time, specify, by the
regulations made by it, the manner of receipt of premium
by the insurer.‖
Clause 10 of the GC provides that where the value of the
insured property is greater than the insured value, the insured shall be
treated as the insurer for the difference and has to bear the
proportionate part of the loss.
6.1 Section 64VB(1) of the Insurance Act provides that the risk
shall be covered on receipt of the premium payable or guaranteed to
be paid in the prescribed manner and within the prescribed time or
until such amount is deposited in advance.
The undisputed facts are that the value of the coal/lignite based
electric generation unit in the CPP was Rs.54,000,000,000/- whereas
the sum insured was Rs.23,473,242,000/-. The surveyor assessed
‗under insurance‘ at 56.53% and the tribunal accepted the report of the
surveyor. The dispute only pertains to deduction to be made for ‗under
insurance‘. The loss assessed is not disputed by either of the parties.
7.1 The relevant portion of the majority award is reproduced below:
―153.........As pointed out earlier, the insured value comes
to Rs.2078.00 crore. Underinsurance occurs when the
amount of insurance is less than the full value of the
property insured and means that the insured pays a lessor premium than what should have been required to be paid
and the full value being disclosed as the rate fixed is on the
basis of full value being insured. As per the case of the
Claimant and the evidence of CW-1, the Claimant has
followed the procedure that is being followed in NALCO
for the purposes of valuation. It may be that NALCO has
its own procedure for assessing the valuation for the
purposes of insurance, the Claimant, however, should have
followed the standard insurance guidelines concerning
valuation and underinsurance. Accordingly, the claim for
underinsurance as assessed by the surveyor is accepted.‖
The tribunal considered the initial repair offer of
Rs.4,02,13,786/- made by BHEL vide letter dated 17.08.2018 and took
note that on account of ‗under insurance‘ the deduction to be made is
of Rs.63,10,503/-. The deduction was not made on the ground that the
final bill submitted by BHEL was higher and that the insurance cover
was for the entire unit and not only for the GT. The acceptance of
initial bill for repair by BHEL is an assessment of loss to be decided
on evidence adduced and is not a relevant fact for not averaging out
the ‗under insurance‘. The tribunal travelled beyond Section 64VB of
the Insurance Act and ignored Clause 10 of the GC. There was no
premium received for the difference between Rs.54,000,000,000/- and
Rs.23,473,242,000/-, the risk in respect of the difference amount was
not insured as stipulated in Clause 10 of the GC. The NACL was its
own insurer for the difference amount and had to bear the relatable
proportion of the loss.
The Supreme Court while dealing with a challenge to the
deduction made from the repair bill on account of ‗under insurance‘ considered the following two issues in Sikka Papers Limited (supra):-
―10. We heard the learned counsel for the parties. In the
light of the contentions advanced before us, the following
two questions arise for our consideration:
(one) Whether the insurer was justified in accepting
report dated 15-5-2000 submitted by the surveyor who had
assessed the loss of Rs.14,45,000/- after deducting about
Rs.10,55,000/- from Rs.25,00,000/- i.e. actual amount paid
by the complainant for repairing the diesel generating set ?
(two) Whether the insurer was justified in deducting an
amount of Rs.3,71,509.50 (25.71%) as under insurance
from the loss assessed at Rs.14,45,000/- by the surveyor in
its report dated 15-5-2000 ?‖
9.1 While deciding the second issue, the Supreme Court held that
where the sum insured is less than the required insurance, the insurer
is liable to pay only the proportionate amount. The pro-rata formula
applied by the surveyor for deducting the ‗under insurance‘ was
upheld. The relevant portion is quoted below:
―23. In Dictionary of Insurance (2nd Edn.) by C. Bennett,
―underinsurance‖ is explained thus:
―underinsurance occurs when the amount of insurance is
less than the full value of property insured and means that
the insured pays a smaller premium than that required as
the rate is fixed on the basis of full values being insured. It
leads to partial loss claims being scaled down by average
(qv.).‖
The expression ―average‖ is explained thus:
―In non-marine property insurance if a sum insured is
‗subject to average‘, and the sum insured is less than the value at risk at the time of loss, the claim will be reduced
in the same proportion. The measure combats
underinsurance.‖
As per the invoice, the diesel generating set and the
alternator was purchased by the complainant in the year
1997 for Rs 45,25,000. The complainant, however, got the
insurance cover valuing diesel generating set (Rs
26,00,000) and alternator (Rs 9,00,000), in all for Rs
35,00,000. Apparently, therefore, there is an element of
underinsurance. There is merit in the contention of learned
counsel for the insurer that the value of the item is always
declared by the insured at the time of issuance of the
insurance policy while the element of underinsurance is
calculated by the insurer at the time of assessment of loss.
Although on behalf of the complainant, it was
contended that underinsurance, if any, must be calculated
at the time of issuance of policy and could not be deducted
at the time of assessment of the loss but we find it difficult
to accept the same. The policy provides that if the sum
insured is less than the amount required to be insured, the
insurer will pay only in such proportion as the sum insured
bears to the amount insured. In accordance with the said
provision in the policy if the surveyor applied the pro rata
formula and deducted 25.71% from the loss so assessed i.e.
Rs 3,71,509.50 from the sum payable as underinsurance,
such deduction cannot be faulted.‖
The Supreme Court in I.C. Sharma (supra) while dealing with
the issue of ‗under insurance‘ and the effect thereof held that the
principle of averaging out has to be applied in case of ‗under
insurance‘. Where all the goods are not destroyed the loss assessed is
to be averaged out with the ‗under insurance‘. In case of total loss, the
amount insured is to be paid irrespective of the actual value. The relevant paragraphs are as under:
―8. The only legal issue which arises for consideration is
―what is underinsurance — and the effect thereof?‖
Underinsurance basically means that the insured has taken
out an insurance policy in which he has valued the insured
items for a sum which is less than the actual value of the
insured item. In a country like India this is normally done
to pay a lesser premium. This is, in fact, harmful to the
policyholder and not to the Insurance Company because
even if the entire insured property is lost, the policyholder
will only get the maximum sum for which the property has
been insured and not a paisa more than the sum insured.
To give an example, in case a person takes out the
householder policy covering fire insurance and gives the
value of the structure of his house and goods stored therein
at Rs 50,00,000 even though the value of the same is Rs
1,00,00,000 then even if the entire house and goods are
completely lost in a fire, he cannot get an amount above Rs
50,00,000 even though the value may be more.
9**.** If all the insured goods are lost then there is no problem.
The insured is entitled to the amount for which the goods
were insured even if that be less than the actual value of
the goods. In case a person gets a painting insured for Rs
1,00,000 though the value of the same is Rs 10,00,000, if
the painting is lost the insured is entitled to Rs 1,00,000
only. If all the insured goods falling under one head are
stolen or lost then the insurance company cannot apply the
principle of averaging out because, though the loss may be
Rs 10,00,000, the claimant will get only one Rs 1,00,000
as per the value assessed and the insurance premium paid
by him.
10**.** The Insurance Company can however apply the
principle of averaging out when all the goods are not destroyed. Supposing the entire house was insured for Rs
50,00,000, but on valuation it is found that the value of the
structure and the goods was Rs 1,00,00,000 and if the
policyholder claims that he has suffered loss of Rs
40,00,000 then he will be entitled to only Rs 20,00,000, by
applying the principle of averaging out. What this means is
that if the value of the goods is more than the sum for
which they are insured then it is presumed that the
policyholder has not taken out insurance policy for the
uninsured value of the goods. The claim is allowed by
applying the principle of averaging out i.e. the insured is
paid an amount proportionate to the extent of insurance as
compared to the actual value of the goods insured.‖
The contention of learned counsel for the NACL that the ‗under
insurance‘ was assessed on replacement value and not for the purpose
of repair, is ill-founded. The value of the asset is to be determined at
the time of obtaining insurance cover and the loss is to be assessed on
occurrence of the event of destruction or damage. At the time of
insurance admittedly the value of the insured unit was
Rs.54,000,000,000/-whereas the sum insured was
Rs.23,473,242,000/-. Consequently the premium on 56.53% of the
value of the unit was not paid and the loss assessed has to be averaged
out accordingly.
There is no quarrel with the proposition pressed by learned
counsel for the NACL that the scope of interference under Section 34
of the Act is limited and the case laws relied upon in support of this
proposition. In the present case the award is contrary to the statutory
provisions of the Insurance Act and has travelled beyond the terms of the insurance policy, particularly clause 10. The award suffers from
patent illegality and is set aside.
The petition is allowed. Pending application is also disposed of.
AVNEESH JHINGAN, J
AUGUST 19, 2026
Ch
Reportable:-Yes